Thazza Meatballa

Hello, my name is Kelly and I am a pinterest junkie. I pin craft projects, recipes, preschool science projects, and without really knowing where I find time, I try a large percentage of them. Some are successes and some, well, some are far from success.

Then a day comes along and I start feeling brave (usually after an episode of Chopped) and I walk into my kitchen, swing open the refrigerator door and stare down the rejected choices from that weeks grocery trip. Blindly confident, I begin to create an orginal. Simply put, I make it up.

A good friend calls this recipe Kelly’s Famous Balls and since I have nothing better – lets roll with that.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. chicken sausage
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 2-3 Tbsps sundried tomatoes
  • basil
  • two garlic cloves
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • one large spaghetti squash
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

20150203_182511

First, cut the spaghetti squash in half the long way and clean out the seeds. Then drizzle the olive oil over the squash and sprinkle a pinch of salt for flavor. Wet a paper towel and wring most of the water out, but it should still be damp. Place the paper towel over the prepared squash and place in the microwave for 6-8 minutes depending on the size. Do not overcook.

20150203_181851

While the squash is in the microwave, measure your remaining ingredients and place in a large bowl. I like to ditch a spoon and mix with my hands, but what ever method you prefer is fine. Just be sure everything is incorporated well.

20150203_183101

Once incorporated, roll out mini meatballs and place in a pan with about a tablespoon of canola oil. Keep on medium heat until nicely browned and cooked though.

Take a fork and pull the squash so it comes out looking like noodles. If this step doesn’t make sense, you, most likely are pulling in the wrong direction. It is pretty cool to see if you have never made a spaghetti squash before.

20150203_185017

Plate it up and dig in! My husband likes spaghetti sauce over his, but these have enough flavor that a sauce is optional.

20150203_185350

If new names come to your mind or you have an awesome sauce to recommend, add your comments below. Tasty meals in minutes are good to share!

Cheers,
Kelly

Leave a Reply

