Profile of Perfection

Once a year we celebrate our mothers. Dads get one day. Even ice cream gets a day. So, on Sunday, September 13, grandparents get their turn. National Grandparents Day doesn’t get the hype from Hallmark and I don’t imagine it increases flower sales across the country, but I think it is one of those days that is a little under appreciated. So for those grandparents that get down on the floor and wrestle, for those that inspire through music, encourage by leading the hike, and those that talk cars and fishing this one is for you.

Not only do my kids LOVE their grandparents, I LOVE our parents. They taught by example. They taught with success and failure, they taught openly and honestly, and they showed us how. So many times we focus on what grandparents mean to grandkids that we forget that in this parenting game, they are our teachers. What we do and don’t do comes from the examples we were given.  I was blessed with great examples and still fail with grace often. Parenting is a tough gig and being promoted is a big deal. So we took momma day and celebrated those profiles in our lives that are always there no matter the distance. Literally.

Profiles of Perfection

Materials

  • Paper – lots of different solid and patterned paper. LOTS
  • Yarn – hair colored preferred
  • Craft eyes
  • Glue
  • Scissors
  • Markers
  • Extras – we used stickers and macaroni noodles
20150904_084010
Don’t look so excited boys
20150904_083904
One attempted excitement here.

Rowan selected all the ‘clothes’ he wanted for each of his grandparents. I drew the shoulders and heads onto the paper he selected and let him cut everything out.

20150904_085018

Once everything was cut, he selected a plain background and began to glue everything into place. Glue the shoulders and head first and then proceed to decorate your grandparent.

20150904_085521

After the first one was completed the reality of the craft hit me. Only one set of grandparents are local and my kids don’t see a lot of their grandparents. Visits once, sometimes twice a year and Skype is really it, but as my child began creating the faces of his grandmas and grandpas I saw that there was no challenge. He even personalized each picture without a second thought. When he finished Papa Bob my heart was overflowing with happiness. I looked down at this paper creation and got all teary eyed. Rowan had perfectly captured my father and I wished for one of his big daddy hugs.

The same was true for each grandparent. Each face made us happy. So happy that we added a little something to the back of each picture. I asked him to tell me what his favorite thing about each of them was. We may be ruining the surprise by sharing the masterpieces here, but his answers will melt their hearts and will be something just between them.

20150904_130154

Graham did his own project and I am open to tips on trying to take pictures while this toddler does his work. So far, a big fail. When he does his crafts he is all in. Not one inch of him is left unadorned by the artist within. He either really loves crafts or knows that the messier he gets the better chance he has of ending up naked taking a bath – his favorite combination.

Thankfully, Haley over at Life is Sweet does a much better job at taking pictures during the project. So well I thought, “hey, I can do that.” I love this project and Life is Sweet has a ton more that I will be trying in the future. Thank you Pinterest for leading me to her sweet post.

The daily snack is always welcomed after a morning of crafting and this momma day snack was something from my childhood. Nothing says grandma to me like banana bread and even though my grandmother has shared her recipe with me a handful of times, I can not get it to turn out. I have tried everything, but nothing has come close to grandma’s special recipe. So, I went to Pinterest and I found a recipe that I love even more. Yikes – no one tell her!  I found the recipe on Vanilla Sugar Blog and made it work with the ingredients I had on hand.

Butterscotch Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups All Purpose Flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (don’t have buttermilk – mix 1/2 cup milk with 1 tsp lemon juice)
  • 1/2 cup soft, fat-free cream cheese
  • 6 oz unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Prepare your pan of choice. Recipe will make two loaf pans. I made one loaf and mini muffins for easy breakfasts and snacks.
  3. Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt – set aside.
  4. Combine buttermilk (or buttermilk substitute) with cream cheese, then beat in the eggs.
  5. Beat the butter, sugar, and cinnamon with a hand mixer.
  6. Alternate adding 1/3 of flour mixture and buttermilk mixture to the sugar mixture until everything is combined.
  7. Mash in your bananas.
  8. Fold in butterscotch chips and spread into your prepared pan.
  9. Sprinkle top with a few extra butterscotch chips.
  10. Bake for an hour and 15 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool and gobble.

20150907_234011

Being a grandparent is a special job and it deserves special recognition. I am not one to wait for one specific day to show my appreciation, but this celebration is one that I can jump on board with. This and ice cream day will hold a special place in my heart. I hope this momma day will impress upon my children what wonderful grandparents they have been blessed with and provide each of them with a little keepsake that shows them how important they are to two little boys.

Cheers,
Kelly

Leave a Reply

