Irish Pie

Kids are allowed a lap seat until they are two, so my husband and I took full advantage and planned a Ireland getaway months before my oldest son’s second birthday. We ate and drank our way through the southwest horseshoe of Ireland on a family-friendly vacation. This recipe is a mixture of Ireland and fall to me. A warm, stick-to-your-bones casserole that reminds me of my Dakota roots and my Irish-by-marriage family ties. Sheppard’s Pie is already kid friendly, but making it this way adds to the fun. I found the recipe through a Pinterest search and made a few changes from David Venable’s original recipe.
Sheppard’s Pie Hand Pies –
Ingredients:
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 medium potato, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup carrot, diced
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 cup canned chicken gravy
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp water
  • 2 boxes (4 rolls) pre-made pie crust
  • 8 slices American cheese, quartered
 20151018_173340
Gather up the goods and get started . . .
Directions:
  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.  Grease two baking sheets.
  2. Cook the ground beef and onions in a large sauté pan over medium heat until the onions are translucent and the meat is no longer pink, Drain and set aside.
  3. While the beef is cooking, add the potatoes and carrots to a medium saucepot. Cover the veggies with slightly salted water and boil until they’re cooked through, but not mushy, Drain and set aside.20151018_174019
  4. Add the beef, onions, carrots, potatoes, peas, corn, Worcestershire sauce, and gravy into a large mixing bowl. Fold together and set aside.20151018_174928
  5. Whisk the egg and water together in a small bowl; set aside.
  6. On a lightly floured work surface, unroll one of the pie crusts. Using a pumpkin cookie cutter, cut five pumpkins. Repeat with the remaining rolls of dough.20151018_180246
  7. On half of the pumpkins, place a generous Tbsp of filling in the center, leaving a 1/4″ border. Stack two quarters of the American cheese on top of the filling. Then, using a pastry brush, apply the egg wash on the border of the crust. Place an empty pumpkin on top and seal the edges together with a fork.20151018_180715 20151018_180839 20151018_181711
  8. Place the pies on the papered baking sheets and brush the tops with egg wash. Bake for 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

Based on the ingredients, I had way more filling than I needed for just the hand pies, so I poured the remaining stuffing mixture into a baking dish, covered it with cheese and tater tots, and baked it for 35 minutes. I had Shappard’s Pie Hand Pies for dinner and Sheppard’s Pie Tater Tot hotdish for another night.

20151018_182222

First, I love getting two meals for the price of one. Second, both of these were family approved and easy on my wallet. Third, the hand pies are easy clean up.  I wish more savory recipes would come in pie format. All this talk of pie is really getting me ready for Thanksgiving, but one holiday at a time. First, my boys and I will get our trick-or-treat on, then we break into the cornucopia of Thanksgiving crafts and recipes. Oh, how I love all things fall.

Cheers,
Kelly

Leave a Reply

