Dolly Parton was Wrong

Working 9-5 may be the way to make a living, but a working momma goes far beyond 5pm. I am not unlike other moms that work all day and squeeze all their snuggles in between dinner, homework, and bedtime routines. You see their precious faces across the breakfast table, but everyone is tired and conversation is minimal. Then they head to school or daycare and you head for the office. I pull in long before 9am and stay beyond 5 Monday through Thursday. 40 hours pack these four days so on Friday, they are all mine. I work hard during the week so that when I leave Thursday, I can leave the office behind and be totally present for them. I notice how they stick their tongues out when they concentrate or how my youngest always pats his thighs when he walks. My oldest hums during every meal – no particular tune, but always a hum. It brightens every meal and when he isn’t humming, I know he is tired or that something is bothering him.

What I want is to be a stay-at-home mom and to work full time. Being a working momma is a real struggle. Staying present when you aren’t. Being involved in their lives when they don’t want to or don’t know how to communicate about their day. I want limitless energy so that when I return home, I am ready to play. I want more hours in my day to absorb all the wonderful traits my boys are picking up as they are growing up. I want to give them my all – when my 9-5 day sucks up all but 1 or 2 hours of time with them. Nine to five no longer covers the normal work day and it just doesn’t do justice to the  job of any parent.

20151002_101820.jpg

What is one thing you have been wanting to do with your child in your 25th hour? Would you take an extra hug, head outside for an adventure, or maybe teach them something new? This Friday, my momma day, is my day to have the best of both worlds.  I’m a working mom that has an incredible blessing – I have Friday off to be a stay-at-home momma. Either way it isn’t 9-5, it is more like Bachman Turner Overdrive’s Working for a Living where they jam about taking care of business and working overtime. Parents take care of business by working overtime – I only wish we all could cash in on the time and a half!

Cheers,
Kelly

Leave a Reply

