Love is in the Craft Box

They say that love is in the air, but I’d like to think it lies squarely in my craft box. Showing the special people in your life just how much they mean to you through a one-of-a-kind gift is the extra pinch of love. Giving something only you can give is like giving a piece of yourself.

A day of crafting for the day of love made up our momma day. I searched for Pinterest ideas and found some projects for big kids and little kids to make for teachers, grandparents, friends, and all the other special someones in your life.

Lately, the schedule for momma day is clearly laid out knowing that it will never go as planned. I believe everything should be in its place and a place for everything, however, I have also learned that you must leave room for intuitive questions, curiousity, and  . . . legos! I have learned to take momma days one moment at a time.

20160123_135815

 

First we had to prepare some packages for some special people in our lives. They all live too far and hugs don’t ship well, so we just planned to send our love.  Now for those teachers, friends and family members that follow me on this crazy parenting, blogging journey, you may be a recipient of a heart hopper and maybe not. I will not reveal our secrets or blow the surprise here.

20160201_202105

These Heart Hoppers are super easy and only take a quick trip to the post office. I snagged the idea from The House That Lars Built, but calling them heart attacks just broke my heart, so I spiced them up with a new name.

Heart Hoppers

Materials:

  • Construction/Valentine’s Day Paper
  • Scissors
  • Shipping boxes and/or envelopes

Using just colored paper and a scissors, I showed my oldest how to make hearts.  As many of you may have learned – you fold a piece of paper in half and on the folded edge cut out an ice cream cone shape. I taught him how to fold it multiple times to create multiple hearts and after a few failed attempts, he started mass producing hearts.

I recruited my smaller helper for the next project. Every toddler can finger paint. You put a glob of paint on white paper and let them make a mess. This lasts for 30 seconds and they begin painting the table. You redirect them back to the paper and for another 30 seconds they become Van Gough. Whether boredom or curiosity, the next time you look back they are not only the artist, but the art!! For this project – that’s okay. Haley over at Life is Sweet really knows how to make an adorable Valentine.

Blowing Kisses Craft

Materials:

  • Construction paper
  • Paint
  • Paint Brush
  • Glue
  • Markers
  • Tape
  • Pictures of the artist being adorable

20160201_215823

Haley’s project inspired me to try something new. Graham was already covered in red paint so why not make him even more vibrant? Plus, it was bath night and how cool would his bath water look.

Piece of My Heart Bouquet

Materials:

  • More paint
  • Hearts
  • Construction paper
  • Scissors
  • Pipe Cleaners
  • Glue
  • Decorations (optional)

Graham painted everything but the hearts so big brother stepped in and offered a little guidance.

20160204_193300

Once the hearts dry, cut them out and arrange them on the construction paper using the pipe cleaners for the stems. Glue everything down. We added a sparkly piece of construction paper for the vase and added felt hearts to the petals for added cuteness. It was super simple and we think his teachers are going to love them.

I wonder if love is really in the craft box? Today you can find art projects by searching for age group, season, holiday . . . this list goes on and on. Pinterest puts a world of ideas at your finger tips. Here is where I expand our vision of love. Love is also in the lab. Now, I am no scientist, but I have done some research and discovered some amazing teachers online sharing their talents. Teach-a-Roo is hosted by a public school teacher that shares awesome ideas and I was lucky to come across the Valentine Science Kit idea on the Teach-a-Roo website.

My husband is a teacher and, like him, the great ones work long after the bell rings. So, not only was I delighted to find the website, but I was thrilled to purchase the download and support another amazing teacher. I will not reveal what is in the bags, but click on the link and for a small price, you can download one of many options for your next holiday project and support a public school teacher.

20160207_160816

Whether you plan to glue something down or blow something up, I hope you have a wonderful Valentine’s Day.

Cheers,
Kelly

Leave a Reply

