Raising a Thief

It was on our summer bucket list, but no matter how many times we go to the orchard, I never learn my lesson. My efforts are always greater than the time I have to create the scrumptious recipes floating around in my head. We crossed the trip off our list and came home with buckets (and buckets) of berries.

My sons eat them by the handfuls, staining their faces and hands with shades of blue. My youngest couldn’t wait until we got home. He couldn’t wait until we could weigh them and pay. He diligently worked to fill his little bucket. He would pick enough to fill the bottom of his bucket, then, out of the corner of my eye, I would catch him shoving them into his mouth.

539

Here is where I apologize to Butler’s Orchard for raising a thief. He is proof you have an excellent product!

20160620_185533

I can not be the only one that buys way more fruit than I really need and get left desperately trying to find easy recipes that don’t take too much time. There are more of you out there and this is for you. It is pretty much a dump blueberry crumble cake. You dump everything into a bowl, stir, pour into a pan, and bake. I reworked a couple of recipes until I was left with the easiest baking recipe you could hope for.

Ingredients

Crumble Topping

  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • ⅓ cup all-purpose flour
  • ¾ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 7 tablespoons butter, room temperature
Cake
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • ¼ cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2½ teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries
Glaze
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon water
  • 1 Tbsp light corn syrup (optional)

Instructions

    1. Mix the crumble toppings together until combined. Set aside.

20160620_185504

  1. Mix the cake ingredients, except the blueberries, together until combined, add blueberries and pour into a prepare baking pan. I used a 9X9 cake pan.
  2. Bake approximately 45 minutes at 375 degrees.
  3. Mix the glaze ingredients together, drizzle over cake and enjoy.

20160621_225252

I’ll let you in on a little photography trick I just pulled on you.

20160621_225316

Now you don’t have to feel guilty for picking too many blueberries.  I am sorry, however, if you, like me, have raised a little blueberry thief. For that you are on your own.

Cheers,
Kelly

One thought on “Raising a Thief

Leave a Reply

